Committee of Council

All City matters requiring a Council decision is discussed by Committee of Council, which will either request changes or further information, or send them on to Council for a formal decision. This committee structure is common in many other cities and helps streamline the decision-making process.

To ensure Council members have a voice on championing key issues, they are appointed as Council designates for the following areas:

  • Cllr. Steve Darling: community safety, sports & recreation.
  • Cllr. Nancy McCurrach: arts, culture, heritage and environment.
  • Cllr. Darrell Penner: public works and transportation.
  • Cllr. Glenn Pollock: housing.
  • Cllr. Dean Washington: finance and downtown.
  • Mayor Brad West: planning, and economic development.

Committee of Council meetings start at approximately 2 pm and take place every Tuesday of the month (if there are five Tuesdays in the month, the last Tuesday may be cancelled).

Council meetings also start at 6 pm with public hearings, and take place every second and fourth Tuesday of the month.

Community advisory groups, roundtables or task forces are also created on an as needed basis to deal with emerging or key community issues.


Corporate Office
Tel: 604.927.5213

Location and Mailing Address

2nd Floor, City Hall
2580 Shaughnessy Street
Port Coquitlam BC
V3C 2A8

Business Hours: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday (excluding statutory holidays)