Smart Growth Committee

The Smart Growth Committee is a Council committee that works to ensure the City’s management of growth and development integrates the community’s economic, social and environmental interests. The committee is responsible for matters that include:

  • Development applications
  • Development regulations
  • Zoning
  • Development Permit
  • Subdivision
  • Parking
  • Building
  • Business
  • Regional Growth Strategy
  • Liquor licence applications
  • Community health
  • Access/mobility
  • Homelessness
  • Built heritage
  • Multiculturalism
  • Social planning
  • Other social issues

This committee also acts as the liaison with the Downtown Business Improvement Association and Chamber of Commerce.

Regular Smart Growth Committee meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month and are open to the public.

Agendas & Minutes

Meeting minutes are not posted on the website until they have been adopted at the next regular meeting.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 8:20 pm - Special
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 4:30 pm
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 4:30 pm - Special

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Agenda

Minutes

2017 Agenda & Minutes

Committee Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held in the Heritage room on the third floor of City Hall, 2580 Shaughnessy Street, Port Coquitlam.

Contact 604.927.5442 or mcdonoghk@portcoquitlam.ca to confirm the date and time of the next meeting.

Correspondence

Smart Growth Committee
2580 Shaughnessy Street
Port Coquitlam BC  V3C 2A8
Email planning@portcoquitlam.ca

Delegations

If you wish to appear as a delegation before Committee, please contact the staff liaison as noted above or complete the online delegation request form.

Committee Members

Council Representatives

Councillor Brad West        (Chair)
Tel: 604.313-9185
westb@portcoquitlam.ca

Mayor Greg Moore
Tel: 604.927.5410
mooreg@portcoquitlam.ca

Councillor Darrell Penner
Tel: 604.941.9823
pennerd@portcoquitlam.ca

Staff Resource

Laura Lee Richard
Director, Development Services
Tel 604.927.5247
planning@portcoquitlam.ca

Councillor Mike Forrest        (Vice-Chair)
Tel: 604.942-6289
forrestm@portcoquitlam.ca

Councillor Laura Dupont 
Tel: 604.328.8026
dupontl@portcoquitlam.ca

Councillor Dean Washington
Tel: 604.317.7045
washingtond@portcoquitlam.ca

Councillor Glenn Pollock
Tel: 604.771.4415
pollockg@portcoquitlam.ca