Awards Night Highlights Port Coquitlam Volunteers

PORT COQUITLAM, BC – APR. 26, 2022…… Over 130 people gathered at the Port Coquitlam Community Centre last Wednesday night to celebrate Port Coquitlam’s volunteers, laugh and mingle at the City’s annual volunteer awards night.

Four awards were handed out at the Port Coquitlam Volunteer Recognition Awards & Tribute evening, which featured entertainment from Dueling Pianos. The evening was emceed by Mark Friebe from The Giggle Dam Dinner Theatre.

“This award night is our way of saying thank you and I am proud of how our community pulled together during this pandemic – and it was our volunteers who led the way. Your commitment, your selflessness and your hard work never wavered.,” said Mayor Brad West at the event. “You adapted, you got creative, you may have even learned how to Zoom – but you continued to help people in Port Coquitlam, you continued to contribute to the social bonds that hold us together and you continued to set an example of what engaged and caring community involvement looks like”.

A total of 32 people were nominated this year in the three award categories, and all were invited to Wednesday’s celebration along with other community volunteers. Fortis BC sponsored the event for the 22nd year. This year’s theme was Volunteers make a World of Difference.

2022 Award Recipients

Awards were presented in the following categories. Photos from the event are posted at

Lifetime Volunteer – Honours individuals who have dedicated many years to improving the community of Port Coquitlam through their volunteer efforts. Council awarded two recipients this year.

Award Recipient – Bob Lee

Exemplifies the virtue of a good caring citizen and goes over and above leadership with his paramedic career and in his volunteer efforts for many organizations. He cares about people and is always willing to help those in need.

Bob has organized and raised over $90,000 for the James Park Elementary School Playground, $100,000 for Cops for Cancer Jail and Bail event and $4,000 for the Christmas Hamper for BC Emergency Health Services

He has made a measurable impact over the years with his volunteer efforts and has been chair of the Port Coquitlam May Day Task force for over 10 years. His support and dedication to this iconic festival and has been a success in this community.

He is appreciative of all the task members and volunteers and constantly expresses his gratitude for those who donate their time as well.

Award Recipient – Julie Schmidt

Julie’s dedication to the preservation of Port Coquitlam’s history has been immeasurable.

A very enthusiastic volunteer and is a dedicated one to the PoCo Heritage Society. She has spent countless hours coordinating activities for the museum and serves on the board of PoCo Heritage for the past 18 years.

She has worked long hours to ensure the Museum and Archives remain a vibrant part of the community, drawing on her many years of experience as a Registered Dietitian and facility Administrator at Hawthorne Care Centre in Port Coquitlam.

Volunteer Of the Year Award –  This category honours someone who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the community in any of the following five categories:

Arts, Heritage & Cultural Awareness – honour those who help preserve and celebrate Port Coquitlam’s past, and promote the arts and cultural development of our community.

Caring and Safety category honours those who enrich our community through their caring and humanitarian actions, and who work to make Port Coquitlam a safer place for all of us.

Environmental Protection and Enhancement honours volunteers who are committed to promoting and preserving Port Coquitlam’s natural environment for present and future generations.

Sports and Recreation category honours volunteers who enhance the quality of physical activity in Port Coquitlam.

Youth Programs category recognizes those who support youth through the development, provision or participation in youth programs and activities.

NomineesVishad Deeplaul, Teresa Dempsey, David Dyk, Ingrid Franzke, Alisha Koubi, Ayden Kuiper, Shelley Livesey, Diane MacNeill, Christine Mueller, Marta Nerdahl, Graeme Niedtner, Pooja Patel, Ann Pratt, Helen Ramsay, John Saremba, Stephanie Wagner, Keith Walker, Sharon Wilson and Aynsley Wong.

Award Recipient – Shelly Livesey

Shelly Livesey is distinguished by her cheerfulness, her enthusiasm, her willingness to jump in and get her hands dirty and to whatever needs doing. She is a long time resident of Port Coquitlam for over 50 years. Her volunteering encompasses many facets including work with Maple Creek Watershed Streamkeepers, gardening with PoCo Garden Club and working with Youth.

Future Leader – Youth Volunteer of the Year U25  – Reserved for the recognition of a Port Coquitlam youth, under the age of 25, who has demonstrated a commitment to our community and has made extraordinary volunteer contributions in any of the categories above.

Nominees – Eyden Amram, Marwa Aziz, Abbie Frost, Talia Goldstein, Kiana Hofmann, Ethan Jang, Mandeep Mandla, Dalia Politeo, Ben Sawa, Kayla Stewart and Caryl Szeto.

Award Recipient – Ethan Jang

Ethan Jang is a volunteer with the Port Coquitlam Community Police Station since 2017 (4 years) contributing over 830+ hours. Not only does he do this for PoCo but he does this with the same enthusiasm for Coquitlam.

Each recipient received an etched glass award and their names are engraved on the honour rolls displayed at City Hall.

– 30 –


Ximena Ibacache
Manager of Communications & Administrative Services
City of Port Coquitlam
Tel 604.927.5499